News & Updates

Home / News & Updates

CAN announce new franchise and starting date for Nepal T20 League

Nepal T20 League’s starting date has been pushed further again. The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) announced the new starting date and a new Kathmandu-based franchise on Thursday. Kathmandu Knights are all set to replace Kathmandu Gurkhas as the Tournament kicks off on 23rd December with the final on 10th of January, 2023. Nepal sports venture is the owner of Knights. Kathmandu Gurkhas, a franchise owned by Kantipur Media group, decided to pull out from Nepal’s major franchise league on the 30th of November.

Previously, the NepalT20 was scheduled on September 24 and was pushed to December 12 considering security arrangements. However, the League has now been pushed 11 days further again after the omission of Kathmandu Gurkhas.

Six teams, Kathmandu Knights, Lumbini All-Stars, Janakpur Royals, Far-Western United, Pokhara Avengers, and Biratnagar Super Kings, will compete for the maiden title of Nepal T20. The league will be played in a round-robin format, with each team meeting others in the home and away matches; however, all the games will be played at TU Cricket Ground.67 domestic and 32 foreign players have been signed from the two-day draft held on September 10th and 11th in Kathmandu.

Veteran Australian pacer Brett Lee was announced as the mentor of the tournament. Similarly, Some big international names like Mohammad Hafeez, Angelo Mathews, Carlos Brathwaite, Adam Lyth, Thisara Perera, and Ben Cutting are all set to feature in the maiden Nepal T20.